Bureau and Executive

The Bureau and Executive of EIPG

The following are the biographies of the current members of the Bureau and Executive of the European Industrial Pharmacists Group.

Claude Farrugia
Claude Farrugia is an Associate Professor in Applied and Biological Chemistry at the University of Malta. He holds a degree in Pharmacy from the University of Malta and a PhD in Pharmaceutics from the University of Illinois at Chicago, where he worked as a Research Assistant in nanoparticle formulation at the Institute for Tuberculosis Research. He also has experience as a contract Qualified Person, and Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs consultant. He is currently the President of the Malta Qualified Persons Association and Chairman of the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Business Section within the Malta Chamber of Commerce, Enterprise and Industry. He has been designated a Fellow of the European Industrial Pharmacists Group, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Institute of Science and Technology, and is a Pharmaceutical Scientist member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. Prior to becoming President, he served as Vice-President Communications of EIPG from 2008 to 2016.

Jane Nicholson
Executive Director
Jane Nicholson is a Chelsea pharmacy graduate, with experience in formulation development at Beecham Research Laboratories and in regulatory affairs, both as Regulatory Affairs Manager at Bristol-Myers Squibb and as a member of the UK MHRA’s Ministerial Advisory Board. She is the past President of both IPSF (International Pharmaceutical Students Federation) and the Industrial Pharmacists Section, Vice-President of the Fédération Internationale Pharmaceutique and, until 2007, also the President of the European Industrial Pharmacists Group. She is currently a member of the British Industrial Pharmacists’ Group Committee, and a designated Fellow of both the Royal Pharmaceutical Society and The Organisation for Professionals in Regulatory Affairs.

Piero Iamartino
Vice-President Technical and Professional Development
Piero Iamartino is business director of Micro-Macinazione, a Swiss company specialized in micronisation of APIs and other powder technologies. He has gained a significant professional experience in pharmaceutical dosage forms development and process scale-up, having worked for leading pharma companies (Roche, Boehringer Ingelheim, Recordati). He also has experience in both finished dosage forms and APIs manufacture as a qualified person with Sanofi and as a plant manager for APIs manufacture with Antibioticos. Since 1984 he is a member of the Board of A.F.I. (Associazione Farmaceutici Industria), the leading organization of professionals operating in the Italian pharmaceutical industry.

Anni Svala
Vice-President Education and Careers
Anni Svala is a Regulatory Affairs Manager at Algol Pharma Oy (Pharmaceutical Services) in Finland. She also works as a Responsible pharmacist for a company specialized in plasma products. She graduated from the University of Helsinki in 2009 and has since been working in the pharmaceutical industry in the fields of regulatory affairs, quality control, quality management systems, logistics and pharmacovigilance. Before joining Algol Pharma, she worked for the Finnish Medicines Agency, Orion Oyj. and LEO Pharma Oy. Svala has been a Board member and second Vice President of the Finnish Pharmacists’ association between 2010 and 2013. At the moment she is the Chairman of the Advisory Board of industry and wholesale in the Finnish Pharmacists` association. Svala has also been elected to the Industrial Pharmacist Section in FIP as an Associate ExCO member from the beginning of February 2014. Svala has been the EIPG country delegate since 2010.

Maurizio Battistini
Vice-President European Affairs
Maurizio Battistini graduated in Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Technologies in 1991 from the Università degli Studi of Milan, and in Pharmacy in 1995 from the same institution. He subsequently obtained a degree as a Quality System Manager from the Swiss Association for Quality in 2002. He is the Managing Director and Qualified Person in a Swiss pharmaceutical company manufacturing parenteral medicinal products, and has been employed in a number of companies, including Abraxis Bioscience, Zambon, Bracco and Indena, in different roles throughout his career. Since 2000, he is a member of the Council of the Pharmaceutical Association in Ticino-Switzerland (AFTI), in particular Vice-President from 2006 to 2015, and more recently the Delegate for External Relations. In 2004, he was added to the Register of Technical Consultations of the Judge at the Varese court, as an expert in industrial and pharmaceutical chemistry. In 2008, he was approved as a Qualified Person by the Italian Medicines Agency (AIFA) and inserted in the European register of Qualified Persons. He is also enrolled as an expert in several chemical product categories at the Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Craftsmanship. He also cooperates with the Professional University of Italian Switzerland (SUPSI), as an international lecturer in the Masters in Advanced Study in Sustainable Pharmaceutical Operations & Engineering, and with the Universities of Parma, Pavia and Perugia, for which he teaches courses at the Master in Pharmaceutical Technologies and Regulatory Activities.

Giorgos Panoutsopoulos
Vice-President Communications
Giorgos Panoutsopoulos is a Regulatory Affairs, Pricing-Reimbursement Manager and EU QPPV at Genepharm S.A. in Greece. He holds a degree in Pharmacy and a MSc in Pharmacognosy and Chemistry of Natural Products from the University of Athens, where he worked as a Research Scientist in extraction, isolation and identification of secondary metabolites from endemic medicinal and aromatic plants. He also has experience in Quality Assurance handling ISO 9001:2008 for pharmaceuticals and Directive 93/42/EEC for medical devices. He served as President of Postgraduate Students Association of the Athens School of Pharmacy (1999-2006). He is a board member of the Panhellenic Association of Pharmacists since 2013 and currently holds the office of the Secretary of the Board.

Brigitte Saunier
Brigitte Saunier graduated in pharmacy in 1976, and subsequently obtained both masters and doctoral degrees in biochemistry from Harvard Medical School, as well as a master degree in public health law. Throughout her professional career she has held posts of responsibility with a number of companies, including Pierre Fabre, Bayer Sante Familiale, Cephalon and Teva Santé. She is also an elected member of the Central Pharmacist Order since 2003.