Past Presidents Advisory Committee

The Past Presidents Advisory Committee

The Past Presidents Advisory Committee considers and advises on any matter requested by the President or the Bureau, considers and advises on any matter considered appropriate by the Committee, and is available to act as Ambassadors for EIPG.

Claude Farrugia
Immediate Past President
Claude Farrugia is an Associate Professor in Applied and Biological Chemistry at the University of Malta. He holds a degree in Pharmacy from the University of Malta and a PhD in Pharmaceutics from the University of Illinois at Chicago, where he worked as a Research Assistant in nanoparticle formulation at the Institute for Tuberculosis Research. He also has experience as a contract Qualified Person, and Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs consultant. He is currently the President of the Malta Qualified Persons Association and is active within the Malta Medicines Verification Organisation. He has been designated a Fellow of the European Industrial Pharmacists Group, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Institute of Science and Technology, and is a Pharmaceutical Scientist member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. He served as President between 2016 and 2022, and as Vice-President Communications between 2008 and 2016.

Jean-Pierre Paccioni
Past President
Jean-Pierre Paccioni holds a degree in Pharmacy, as well as a master’s degree in organic chemistry with specialisation in natural products from the Faculty of Science of Orsay University. Having worked as a researcher in nautral products synthesis at the Institute of Chemistry of the CNRS from 1974 to 1977, he then joined Laboratoires Merck, Sharpe & Dohme-Chibret in 1978, marking the start of a successful career in the pharmaceutical industry. Between 1984 and 2002 he worked successively for Novo Nordisk, New England Nuclear, Dupont de Nemours, and Pharmacia SAS. In 2002 he joined the GlaxoSmithKline group as a Responsible Pharmacist and Director of Pharmaceutical Affairs, a position he holds to this day. Jean-Pierre Paccioni was president of the Central Council of Section B of the French Ordre National des Pharmaciens from 1994 to 2015, and is currently the vice-president of the National Council of the Ordre. He served as President between 1998 and 2002, and between 2013 and 2016, and as Treasurer between 2002 and 2013.

Luigi Martini
Past President
Luigi Martini is Professor of Pharmaceutical Innovation at King’s College London and Director of Rainbow Medical Engineering. He holds a Degree in Pharmacy and a PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences, both from the University of Manchester, as well as an MBA with distinction from the University of Liverpool, specialising in SME business failures and success. He has occupied many roles in industry, having joined GlaxoSmithKline in 1996, where he performed a variety of roles, from solid dosage form development, to drug delivery and implementation of technological platforms. The pinnacle of his industrial career, prior to joining academia, saw him fill the post of Senior Director of Preclinical and Pharmaceutical Development for Emerging Markets and Asia Pacific. Prof Martini was also made Visiting Professor at John Moores Liverpool University School of Pharmacy in 2006 and an Affiliate Professor of the Department of Chemistry of the University of Malta in 2012, and designated a Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain in 2008. In 2011, he was appointed a member of the REF2014 sub-panel for Pharmacy, Dentistry, Nursing and Allied Healthcare professionals. Prof Martini is the holder of 10 patents and has published widely in the fields of drug delivery, formulation and innovative technologies. He served as President between 2007 and 2013.

Jane Nicholson
Past President
Jane Nicholson is a Chelsea pharmacy graduate, with experience in formulation development at Beecham Research Laboratories and in regulatory affairs, both as Regulatory Affairs Manager at Bristol-Myers Squibb and as a member of the UK MHRA’s Ministerial Advisory Board. She is the past President of both IPSF (International Pharmaceutical Students Federation) and the Industrial Pharmacists Section, Vice-President of the Fédération Internationale Pharmaceutique and, until 2007, also the President of the European Industrial Pharmacists Group. She is currently a member of the British Industrial Pharmacists’ Group Committee, and a designated Fellow of both the Royal Pharmaceutical Society and The Organisation for Professionals in Regulatory Affairs. She served as President between 2002 and 2006.